Teriyaki Chicken and Rice

Abby Woytus

Recently I discovered that Teriyaki chicken and rice is a delicious and surprisingly easy meal to make. In the past, I’ve been prone to grab food from Panda Express or from my local Chinese restaurant, but after learning this recipe, that’s changed. 

I began by gathering all the ingredients to create a perfect teriyaki dish. Although they might seem extensive, the ingredients are simple and include jasmine rice, grilled chicken, and teriyaki sauce. Additionally, I like to include steamed vegetables such as peas, carrots, or even broccoli.

After turning on the stove top, I watched as my Dad measured out the right amount of rice and added it to a pot. Following his example, I did the same, but instead of rice I added water. I’ve learned that cooking rice is fairly simple, but you must keep an eye on the boiling pot. Sometimes water spills over the edge, creating a frustrating mess. 

As the rice continued to cook, my dad began prepping the chicken with different spices. In the past, my family has used crispy chicken, but this time we decided to try grilled chicken. Both make for a delicious meal either way! Eventually, once I helped finish preparing the chicken, we popped it into the oven and let it cook. 

Now it might seem like my family are fancy cooks, but it is honestly the opposite. We use a pre-packaged teriyaki sauce that is delicious and impossible to give up. Likewise, rather than using fresh vegetables, I popped a frozen bag of mixed vegetables into the microwave and steamed them. Over time, I’ve realized it’s alright not to make perfect homemade meals by opting for something much easier. 

Eventually, after all the ingredients were ready, I began constructing the Teriyaki chicken bowls. I began by scooping up rice and using it as the base for the bowl. Then I cut the grilled chicken and added it on top of the rice. Now, for the best part, I drizzled on Teriyaki sauce and mixed it all together. Although my sister and dad are picky, I also added steamed vegetables such as peas and carrots to my meal, along with my moms. 

As we sat down to dinner, I finished my meal within minutes. The rice was cooked to perfection, and the chicken was the right amount chewy. Next time, I would add less sauce because it was somewhat overpowering, but we can all learn from mistakes. 

In the future, I recommend adding a different sauce to create a new combination. Another one of my favorites is sweet and sour sauce which is tangy, but extremely flavorful. I’ve learned that rice bowls are delicious, healthy, and customizable, which makes for a great and easy dish! 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started