Breakfast for Dinner

My family are huge believers in breakfast for dinner, so naturally my dad decided to teach me all the components for a proper breakfast for dinner. That being said, last Sunday night my dad pulled out all the ingredients for a delicious dinner including bacon, eggs, pancake batter, and biscuits. 

I’ve never been a huge breakfast fan, but recently I’ve been trying to change that. I began the cooking process by cracking eight eggs into a bowl and mixing in milk and cheese. Over time, I’ve learned that scrambled eggs are the best eggs for a complete breakfast. What’s the secret ingredient you might ask? Shredded Cheddar cheese. 

After handing the scrambled eggs mixture off to my dad, I let him handle the stove, allowing him to finish the eggs. Then I began working on the pancake batter. If I’m being honest, I prefer bagels but today I decided to up the difficulty of the recipe. I began by adding water and eggs to the pancake powder and mixing it together. Then once the griddle was preheated and sizzling with butter I began pouring the batter onto the steaming-hot surface. After a couple of minutes the pancakes began to form and I continuously flipped them, waiting for them to attain a golden brown color. 

If there’s one thing I’ve learned about breakfast for dinner, it’s that you can never have too many carbs. For the biscuits, my family always decides to cheat the process and instead of making our own from scratch, we use a simple can of pillsbury biscuits. After popping open the can, I laid the biscuit dough on a sheet pan and slipped them in the oven. Although my family thinks I’m weird I like to accessorize my biscuit by adding peanut butter to the top and letting it melt. Trust me, it’s delicious!

Now, for the next part I knew my cooking had to be perfect. I grabbed another pan and lined it with bacon. Usually my Dad does this part, but he insisted I help him. So while the bacon was sizzling in the oven I watched it minute-by-minute. At one point, I saw the bacon grow smaller and crisp up so I called for my dad. He pulled it out of the over and sure enough the bacon was cooked to perfection.

Once our delicious spread of food was transferred to the dinner table my family all sat down. After praying we instantly began pilling our plates with the delicious food. I tried a little bit of everything, and could even admit it all turned out great. The scrambled eggs were filled with just the right amount of cheddar cheese, the bacon was crispy, and the pancakes and biscuits melted in my mouth! I don’t want to jinx myself but this was my most successful dinner thus far.

The great thing about Breakfast for dinner is you can mix it up any way you like. Next time, I’ll probably make Belgian waffles instead of pancakes, and maybe even include chocolate chips in the batter. Another thing I would add is a bowl of fresh fruit, to make the meal more nutritious. When cooking Breakfast for dinner the possibilities are endless making the meal unique and creative! 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started